Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people

Some people believe that honesty is the most important factor in any relationship between people. However, in my opinion, I do not agree with the idea and I think sometimes telling a lie can be helpful to keep a relationship between people. I would like to explain and support my idea with some examples as follows.

First, telling a white lie is sometimes needed not to destroy a relationship between friends. The white lie is helpful to encourage people to have confidence and is imperative not to hurt people’s minds. For example, when we are invited to a friend’s house and served with home cooking dishes, we have to say good words to the dishes, even though they are not delicious. This is regarded as a basic manner. Also, when children ask us about Santa Claus, we cannot be honest that he is a fake one and the Christmas presents are from parents.

Second, being silent is the most effective way to keep a good relationship between people in many cases, not always telling the truth. Sometimes, it is difficult for us to judge which is better between telling a truth or a white lie. So, when we have no idea on the exact situation, we are recommended to be quiet on the issue. For instance, one of my best friends in my university seemed to have two girlfriends at the same time, and one of the girlfriends asked me to tell the truth for sure. However, I did not confirm anything to her, because I did not want to be involved in their relationship, but wanted to keep a good relationship with my friend.

To sum up, telling the truth directly sometimes can hurt other people’s minds and also can cause a serious misunderstanding while it is forwarded wrongly to the listener. In this regard, I disagree with “always telling the truth”, but agree that telling a white lie or being silent in some cases are needed for peaceful relationships between people.