Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

Since our childhood, we are constantly told to be honest. And here is a claim that always telling the truth is the paramount consideration in any relationship between people. As far as I am concerned, telling the truth is significant in building relationship with others. But in some cases, telling a lie can be reasonable as well depending on the situation.

To begin with, honesty can gain other's trust which is fundamental in any relationship. Maintaining the love is definitely the case in point. Love is based on promises. If we do not keep the promise, the relationship between the two lovers can be jeopardized. The same is true with other types of relationships. If the president always tells lies, he will never win the support from the people he or she serves. He may even end up being strongly opposed if he or she doesn't keep his or her word. For instance, the economic situation was terrible this year, but the president just hid the truth in order to mask his or her incapability. When the fact was revealed later, not only will his or her fame get ruined but also his or her position will be undermined.

However, there might exist some situations in which telling a lie is more suitable. Sometimes we want to kindly help others, but we do not want others to know. This is what we usually refer to as the white lie. In some cases, it does help others a lot and still maintain the tie with others. My experience can fully illustrate this point. Last time my best friend Tony asked me if I have any cigarette. I lied to him saying I didn't, but actually I had one pack of cigarettes in my bagpack. I did so because he needs to keep away from smoking. He had a bad lung and just went on a surgery. I didn't want him to recidivate so I lied to him for the sake of his health. Although I lied to him, our friendship is still as strong as before. Therefore, telling a white lie can sometimes be beneficial to others without jeopardizing the relationship with them.

To summarize, telling the truth is essential in most occasions. If we don't tell the truth, we will never build the firm relationship with others. Nonetheless, telling a lie can be conducive in some special situations.