Are governments doing well in educating people to pay attention to the importance of food nutrition and healthy eating?

In the past few decades, it is established beyond doubt that radical changes have occurred in the population’s habits and lifestyle. One of these momentous changes is far-reaching alterations in dietary habits. The majority of people think that governments inform individuals to pay more attention to their daily diets. Contrary to popular belief, I possess the conviction that people are not informed regarding the disadvantages of eating unhealthy processed foods as much as they must. In what follows, I will delve into the paramount reasons to substantiate my perspective.

First and foremost, as time goes on, the mortality rate is increasing in countries all over the world. While individuals used to live in rural areas and eat delicious local cuisine from fresh produce, most food productions are made in suburban and industrial areas nowadays. It is crystal clear that the consumption of unhealthy processed and greasy foods with food additives has brought about serious and even fatal diseases such as weight gain, heart problems, blood pressure, and so on. As a case in point, I was living with my immediate family in the countryside when I was admitted to the university entrance exam. This event made me move into a coastal city in which, Due to the lack of time, I used to eat meals in a gourmet restaurant near my apartment instead of home-cooked foods. A short after, I was hospitalized for several days owing to food poisoning. When my doctor clarified the importance of organic and nourishing foods for mental and physical health, I found no one informed me regarding this crucial issue.

The other point worth mentioning is that governments are the beneficiary of this deliberate inattention. Indeed, millions of dollars are spent on treatment by patients, which helps governments compensate for the principal portion of their budget deficit in the economic crisis. Although many individuals spend a piece of their monthly salary on health insurance to get rid of exorbitant treatment expenses, these organizations are directly dependent on government entities. In other words, the more money people spend, the more profit the governments make. It goes without saying that the expansion of non-organic food advertisements in mass media like television, radio, newspapers, magazines, and social networks is another evidence that strengthens my claim. Had governments educated individuals on their eating habits, we would not have found such obvious contradictions.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that governments pay no attention to improving society’s knowledge regarding dietary habits and food quality not only because of the significant increase in serious illnesses and death rate related to the consumption of junk foods but also for their own financial interests.