Are governments doing well in educating people to pay attention to the importance of food nutrition and healthy eating

Nutritious diet, the foundation of a healthy body, has been valued and even triggers a heated discussion over whether the government have done enough work to educate people about healthy eating. Some people believe that lots of efforts made by governments have been put into

helping people learn nutrition and eating. However, my view is that there are much more responsibilities that governments are supposed to take on.

What must be prioritized is that knowledge support in healthy diet are inadequate in both social courses and formal education system, leaving

parents and children unaware of the significance of healthy eating. Initially, courses concerning nutrition knowledge are rarely opened to public. In detail, without access to courses that instruct them to choose healthy food, people may stick to unhealthy eating habits, which may be passed on to their next generations by providing their children with unhealthy food; on contrast, if governments have offered more non-profit diet courses for all social members, such trend can be prevented and healthier eating habits in families would be valued. Besides, it is in school that children can have deeper understanding and training in health knowledge that can help them discern healthy diet, while most schools do not have extra money to teach lessons on healthy eating; how could these schools afford better courses and more teachers in nutrition field if governments are stingy about their financial aids for fundamental education system?

What is equally worth discussion is that governments could be more influential in regulating the food market and have a sway on people’s

eating choice by multiple methods. To begin with, there is few laws that limit the expansion of unhealthy food market. To be more specific,

governments can charge higher taxes in industries and restaurants that serve high calorie or high sugar food, increasing the price of these

products to some extent so people can turn to healthier food for lower price. However, the only existing example is sugar tax in Norway, which successfully change Norwegians’ cognitions about healthy eating; while in other parts of the world, such amendments in food tax are still in debates. Moreover, not only can governments make compulsory tax standards, but also regulate the media to reduce misleading eating concepts. For instance, advertisements and publicities, which overstate the nutrition value of fast food, should be punished for conveying wrong information to the public; but in reality, governments are reluctant to launch these regulations for their fear of overwhelming workload.

To conclude, improving education system and guiding social values by regulations are necessary solutions to educate people about the

importance of nutrition and healthy eating, which is apparently overlooked by governments. As a result, there is much more things governments can do to live up to social expectations.