Some people prefer to attend that the fairly small class sizes while others prefer to attend large institutions that have more lecture style classes with a hundred of students

Education, the foundation of one’s personal development, has been valued and even triggers a heated discussion over whether students should have small classes or large ones. Learning in large classes, in some people’s views, places students as beneficiaries. Contrary to these people’s opinion is my perspective that students, by having small classes, will reap more benefits, due to the contributions to their academic learning and personal development.

What must be prioritized is that having small classes, instead of the large ones, is conductive to students’ academic performances, by consolidating their knowledge and inspiring them to learn more. To begin with, it is having small classes that promote adolescences to absorb knowledge. Specifically, students taking classes in small classrooms are inclined to focus on their professor and can even ask for explanations regarding the knotty or abstract parts; however, in a large classroom, it is likely that students get distracted and miss critical parts in the lecture. Moreover, never can we ignore the significance of having small classes to cultivating students’ enthusiasm in learning. To explain it further, students learning in small classrooms can receive more attention from the professor and teaching assistants, thus being motivated to do more researches on certain topics; on the contrary, it is common for students having big classes to give up because they feel like being neglected.

What should be equally worth discussing is that small classrooms, rather than the big ones, facilitate adolescences personal development, by honing their interpersonal skills and helping them make more friends. Initially, it is small classrooms that serve as platforms for students to hone their social skills. In detail, when studying in a small class, students can contact more with their professor and therefore practice to express their questions concisely with decent words; in contrast, communication with professors is less likely to take place in big classrooms, not to mention practicing skills. Furthermore, learning in small classrooms provides teenagers with access to more friends. To be

specific, in small classes, there are always discussion sessions, where students can communicate deeply with each other and become friends with the ones who share common interests or perspectives; on the other hand, hardly can students have opportunities to communicate or make friends with each other in big classrooms.

Learning, indispensable for students, will be better when students study in small classes. Personal development, the foundation of children’s growth, will be boosted if they learn in small classes. To conclude, only by learning in small classes can students maximize their benefits.