Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

People have always been tried to be more satisfied in their life, but in many times they were not successful. Their satisfaction is dependent on many factors such as health, money, family etc. These factors are changing during time. Consequently, their satisfaction is changing in years. Researchers and psychologists did many researches during last few years to find out about differences in modern people and old people during the time. Obviously, there is still a little doubt about the result, but many of them believe that modern people are less happy compare with old people.

First and foremost reason is about competition. As a matter of fact, the population of humans was smaller in the past and the competition was smaller as well. People did not need to cheat or work hard to be successful in past, but today many people especially in poor areas such as middle east, cheat a lot in anything to survive in a harsh atmosphere. For example, I used to live in Iran and this country is not a rich one. People in that country had many difficulties in their lives. Obviously, there were many cheats and competitions everywhere. Some companies were trying to copy a name and a shape of a successful product to survive in that harsh market. Obviously, living in this situation is not pleasant for any body and people can not live happy in that situation.

Second of all, people used to spend their free times together. In the past, there were not that much new introduced technologies. People were not busy with video games, computers and other electronic devices. In fact, they were together in afternoon after their work and it had a positive influence on their mental health. Psychologically, spending time with family is an effective factor for some people who has some depression to be out of it.

Last but not least, people's environment was calmer before. They used to live in some small cities with some simple rules. They did not have to spent many times to read about every thing's structure. Everything was simple in the past, but those things are really sophisticated today. Indeed people are under a high pressure by modern life style in big cities. They have to know about many things to be e mediocre citizen. For instance, when I came to United States two years ago, I started to learn the culture as fast as possible and I was googling everything in the first couple o months. After a while, I thought that I can be independence in many areas, but I was wrong, because there were many things left. Rules and details are not finish able. I am still dependent on google every single day. This kind of complicated life is not easy for any body. People have to keep learning in their life and they cannot be free.

To sum up, having a modern life style is not easy for many people and they have to learn a lot and be active in their life to survive in a harsh environment. Finally, there is no guarantee for them to be satisfied at the end.