TPO-12 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People have always been concerned about their education. Some people think that it is better to be expert in one major and the rest of them think otherwise. Each way has advantages and disadvantages. I personally believe that, being professional in one major is better than study a little bit about many fields.

First and foremost, having enough focus is important in education, so people have been looked for ways to increase their focus. Scientists in Irvine University found out that the best way to increase the focus is paying attention to fewer subjects. They published the result in the website of the university in 2010.

Second, society will have more professionals and mediocre people will not ruin everything. Imagine a society with many people. In a region with a large population, it is important to have many experts in varieties of majors instead of having many educated people, who has not enough knowledge and experience in a specific field. For example, wages are high in some countries such as Iran, so people prefer to do things by their selves instead of hiring another person to do it. In this situation, everybody has a minimum knowledge in many subjects, but nobody is not that professional. Consequently, in huge problems, they will have serious issues, because they have not enough information about that area.

Last but not least, people would be more satisfied in their favorite major. As a matter of fact, each person is good at something and also bad at something else. In multi-task societies, people have to learn many things. Therefore, some of those areas are not their favorite and they are bad at those. In this situation, people would not be happy or satisfied with their life, because they have to do something that they do not love and there is a big possibility to do it wrong. In both cases, they will be disappointed.

To sum up, although knowing a little bit about everything seems nice for some people, it is not pleasant in real and it has too many disadvantages.