Do you agree or disagree that universities should spend money on improving facilities (labs and general requirements) than hiring famous teachers?

As a matter of fact, an experienced teacher can make a big difference on student's study during a year, so universities and colleges are serious in choosing a person, who wants to teach their students. On the other hand, facilities are necessary for most majors such as chemistry. Therefore, some people think that universities should invest on teachers and some of them think otherwise. In my view, I strongly believe that financial departments in schools should spend money on upgrading facilities.

First and foremost, famous teachers are busy. They do not have enough time to answer student's questions completely. Consequently, they are not effective on student's knowledge. As an illustration, my brother-in-law was in Irvine University for four years. He had a famous teacher, who had a really good experience in his major, but he could not make an appointment with him during the semester, because he was busy with his researches and other big projects.

Second, paying money to some famous teachers is a short time investment. Undoubtedly, these teachers will have many attractive offers during each semester, so they can choose between varieties of offers each year. Obviously, best offer has a big chance to be chosen. As everybody knows, each university has a determined budget for each year, so rich universities have a better chance to get these teachers. For instance, University of Arkansas hired a top rate teacher for Business School in 2013. All students were satisfied with their new professor, but after a while, she got a better offer in California University in San Marcos, so she left her job in Arkansas after one semester and moved to California. The point is that the University of Arkansas lost a lot of money for paying her salary and her moving expenses.

Last but not least, universities should pay two expenses by hiring a high salary teacher, because they cannot skip essential facilities for students. Most majors need to have tools and machines for their study and universities should replace them frequently, because some of them are perishable.

To sum up, although hiring a famous teacher is a kind of investment for schools, they have to be rich to cover all university’s expenses.