Children should choose a job that is similar to their parent' jobs or a job that is vary different with their parent's job?

It goes without saying that in this sophisticated and progressive world where we live, parents have been preoccupied with the concern of whether their children become prosperous in their jobs or not. In this regard, while some people believe that children should continue a job that is similar to their parent's job, others stand at the other side of the continuum, holding the opinion that they should choose a different job from their parent's job. As it relates to me, I concur with the former group because of two main reasons. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are elaborated upon hereunder.

First and foremost, children can avoid wasting their time and money by choosing a job similar to their parent's jobs. It is crystal clear that parents can provide their children with a lot of information and pieces of advice from their first-hand experiences in their jobs, which can help them to become successful. With their help, children can enlarge their vision and broaden their knowledge about the conditions and difficulties they face in their careers and easily evade them. An example can drive this notion home. In my country, Iran, there is a famous family that works in the Teflon industry. Their grandfather started their business 100 years ago by creating utensils with Teflon. His sons continue his legacy by spreading out their business outside of Iran's borders and export their products to some countries such as Iraq, Turkey, and Qatar. Nowadays, his grandsons continue their business by using the science they learn in the university in the field of polymer engineering and expand their market to European countries. When his grandchildren, who are responsible for the factory, talk about their business, they always mention the positive effect of their grandfather's advice on their prosperity and how they face difficulties and use the opportunities to avoid bankruptcy and losing their wealth.

Another equally significant reason to be expressed is that when children select a job that is similar to their parents' job, they can use their parent's fame in that career, to make more money without any special efforts, unlike the people who start their businesses. For example, there is a reputable law firm in my country that manages by a young man who recently graduated from university. Unlike other graduated students who have to work hard to start their firm, this young man avoids hard works and spending his time as an intern since his father is a famous lawyer that works for more than 20 years.

All in all, having considered all the reasons and examples mentioned earlier into account, I strongly support the idea that children should continue their parent job or at least choose a similar job because of two reasons. First, they can use their parents' ideas, and second, they can avoid some necessary experience they need to become prosperous.