Compare and contrast the advantages of choosing a stable career over an adventurous lifestyle. Use reasons and specific examples to support your opinion.

So many choices in life that people must decide including job preferences. Some people may demand stable career job but others may prefer outdoor job that would support their adventurous lifestyle. While living in non-constant lifestyle is less boring, some people argue that stable career would guarantee a better life. However, it is important for people to review both the benefits of working in a stable career and non-stable one.

Outdoor profession requires high travel time that may lead to less leisure time. A news reporter, for example, would have travel a lot domestically or internationally to find great stories. They would be apart from their home and families. A cabin crew, although she can visit many countries, probably will be difficult to visit their parents after work like many office workers do. While it is true that outdoor jobs will give the opportunity to find new friends and places each day, time an invaluable benefit that could be neglected.

On the other hand, stable career would have a better chance of work-life balance. Working 8-hours a day, office workers still have plenty of time for other things. They still can take their kids to school every morning or catch up with some friends in the evening. Although travel cannot be avoided, career jobs would typically demand lesser travel time. An accountant, for example, would only spend two to three days a month to present at regional meeting outside office. Because of more predictable schedule, most of office workers can budget future time more wisely. When they know the upcoming months would be hectic, they would take some day-offs for some family trip in advance.

While income opportunities might be equal, living cost could be higher for outdoor professionals. A pilot would have to allocate money for himself when he is on duty and for his family at home. He must buy his own meals when he actually could have meal together with his family at home. Outdoor professions requires more expensive supporting equipment. Professional fishers, for example, would have to allocate monthly expenses for boat maintenance and sailing accommodation.

In conclusion, choosing a lifestyle should be the decision of the person itself but or she must be able to identify which lifestyle fit the best with his or her personality and life’s expectation. Some people might want to spend more time with their family so they choose to be an office worker, but some others might want to travel a lot. I personally prefer a stable career job because it allows me to manage my time more proportionally between work and personal time.