Competition between friends usually negatively impacts friendships.

Friends provide us companion and emotional consolation. But it occurs sometimes that friends also become our competitors. I tend to believe that friendships hardly survive serious competitions.

Competition destroys friends’ mutual sharing, which is the foundation of any friendship. Think about how you first connected with your best friends. Girls might start out talking about the latest fashion trends, and boys might share each other’s experiences in winning a sports game. Sincere sharing creates the ambience in which trust grows; and mutual trust solidifies friendships. But when fierce competitions occur between friends, things change. We are so afraid of losing that we start to hide things from our friends. A student so eager to win the first place in the final exam might refuse to help his friends with academic problems, and a salesperson who covets the “top sales” award might refuse to share his tips of selling goods to customers with other colleagues. Friendships fade thereby.

Besides, another reason why the competition wreaks havoc on friendships is that it destroys the mental balance of both parties. Healthy friendships occur conditionally: we rarely see cases where best friends are from families with completely different financial situations, and it’s also not likely that the CEO of a company would easily befriend some entry-level staff of this company. People from different backgrounds and social levels just find it too difficult to understand each other. The result of the competition, unfortunately, identifies clearly who’s the winner and who’s the loser, creating large chasms not easily ignored between friends. For instance, in an academic competition, your friend Jason outcompetes any other candidate, including you. Accordingly, he gets the chances to be a visiting scholar to Harvard University. He gets to impress those world-class professors, who could open a lot of doors for him in the future. He is on the fast track of development, while you stay still where you are. It’s hard for you to accept the truth that his life and your life is just a competition away. Knowing that you are positioned in different worlds even since, you might choose to step away. The truth is this cruel.

All in all, even though we find it reluctant to admit, competitions do jeopardize friendships.