Do agree or disagree when teachers assign projects on which students must work together the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects

Cooperation between people can accomplish great things that one person cannot. In college, a group of students can learn better by sharing their knowledge with each other as they work together on a project. It seems that the teacher should always assign projects for the students on which the students must work together. However, it depends on what kind of issue we want to solve in the projects.

For issues like social science or political science, it is indispensable for students to discuss and exchange their ideas with each other. If we always do the projects alone, we may neglect a lot of aspects that are important. For example, when discussing the environmental issue, most people will support the idea to protect nature, however, there are many regions where people cannot be fully self-sufficient without utilizing the environment resources. It would be more balanced for learning about this issue if we could discuss both ideas from the perspective of different people.

On the other hand, when students are doing projects on the topics of math or computer science, it is more suitable for them to work alone. For example, proof of math theory is complicated and needs highly concentrated. If two people want to work together to complete the proof, it will be much more inefficient. For computer programming, if two people want to write together in implementing one function, it also degrades the efficiency of both people. When doing projects of these topics, cooperation may be a barrier, instead. A more appropriate approach is reviewing. Someone completes the entire project, and the other person reviews the project and points out what the first person missed. In this way, people can be more efficient without overlook any aspects.

As a student in college, I agree that projects on which students must work together can help a lot when people have a bias on different issues. However, it also depends on the topic of the projects. If we can do the projects on math or computer science alone, and work together for the projects on social science or political science, it will be more efficient for us to learn things.