Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Since time immemorial, history subject consistently remains its paramount position in the university’s curriculum. Notwithstanding emerging viewpoints as to whether students should be exempted from learning history, I, as a fervent advocate, assure that academic skills, critical thinking refined and sense of national identity formed would be by far the strongest evidence for the presence of history in education.

First, further searching into history facilitates students in honing necessary studying skills. Needless to say, in light of reading thousands of materials or books regarding how history has developed, learners are able to sharpen their writing and their scan and skim skills in reading simultaneously. My personal experience has driven me to immerse myself in history. Instead of being perplexed in reading an extremely thick book as most other fellows, I, after several history courses, am able to locate exactly essential information for my writing. Intriguingly, with the formal writing styles of noted authors who wrote history books, my writing style and voice are more logical and stronger than previous time inasmuch as I can figure out which academic vocabularies or useful sentences should be employed in my essay.

Second, history learners’ critical thinking is enhanced positively. Now that historical events are interrelated; therefore, as to understand comprehensively, readers are required to link different chains of events to make suitable evaluations. From that, history can do more than showing information, what it actually creates is forming students’ well-round perspectives. A soaring number of teachers laments that their students are inclined to accept new information without question, which adversely negates learners’ critical thinking. However, the story seems to go differently with the aids of history classes. Learners become meticulous in absorbing new information, which is apparently expressed through several searches for information’s authenticity.

Second, the history subject can mold young learners’ patriotism from recognizing national identity. Experiencing a multitude of wars from civic riots to foreign invasion, each country proudly depicts its glory history to young generations through pages of history books. Through further digging into history, students are likely to define what creates the differences between their mother country and other regions in this globe. The result is that after each individual instills the value of patriotism, they would become active in shielding their homeland’s peace and identity. These abstract things, however, cannot normally be taught through some short-term classes or by some moving and eloquent speeches, it needs time and endeavors from learners to decipher and unveil.

In conclusion, history must be a compulsory subject in every single university in view of its benefits towards learners.