Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take basic science courses even if they are not in the career goal.

university courses can be roughly classified into two categories: liberal and science. Both of them are considered as the cornerstone of social development. Lately, an interesting discussion has arisen about whether all university students should be required to take basic science courses even if they are not in the career goal. From my perspective, basic courses are a necessity for every university student. my reasons are as follows.

Firstly, science is the primary productive force. From the past to present, numerous cases have proved that the world's development is based on the remarkable progress of science and technology. university students, whatever their majors are, will benefit a lot from the basic science knowledge, and those who study liberal arts will be more competitive in the job market when having a basic understanding of science. In modern society, almost all individuals who have changed the world have taken science courses in university, such as Steve Jobs, Mark Zuckerberg, and Jack Ma.

Besides, what students learned in basic science courses will exert a positive influence on their future career. these valuable assets they can amass in science courses are logical thinking, analytical skills, the spirit to question authority and the emphasis on experiments. In fact, these qualities are the premise of high working efficiency. Let's look at this counter example. if one has never been exposed to any science courses, he must lack scientific working methods. Thus, he is likely to try to put any idea that he comes up with into practice without testing its feasibility, which may lead to an unexpected failure.

Admittedly, requiring all students to study basic science courses appear somewhat arbitrary and unilateral, because it is not appropriate to make basic sicence courses mandatory for some liberal-arts students who even have difficulty with their own majors. However, given the significant role that scientific qualities play in one's future career, school authorities can add into the teaching schedule a proper number of basic science courses.

In conclusion, it is meaningful and necessary for every college student to take basic science courses, including students of liberal arts, because what they have learned in science courses will be possibly conducive to their future career.