Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All university students should be required to take basic science courses even if they are not in the career goal

University courses can be roughly classified into two categories; liberal and science. Both of them are considered as the cornerstone of social development. Lately, an interesting discussion has arisen about whether university students should be required to take basic science courses even if they are not in the career goal. From my perspective, basic science courses are not necessary for every university student and I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

Admittedly, requiring all students to study basic science courses might increase knowledge or have a positive influence on their future careers. Knowledge is power, having an extra common sense of different fields is always a benefit. However, better master one than engage with ten, having extra courses is possible will deprive the student of time and energy that are supposed to belong to their majors and social life.

Moreover, students who attempted university usually have decided their major and already planned career goals for themselves. Ideally, the university is a supreme hall for professional research, students specialize in diverse domains able to share knowledge freely. Forcing students to take basic science courses might cause unnecessary pressure on individuals who are not interested in science fields. For instance, students majoring in liberal arts might want to spend time focusing on their projects. Creating an art piece needs time and energy, therefore, science courses are not what they need to pay attention to.

In addition, having an additional science course might cause problems for students who need to work. People seem to fail take into account that not everyone have fully finacial suppots from parents, many of them even rely on student loan to pay their fees and health insurnce. According to an recent survey shows that nearly half of the students have a part time job, and the salary still not enough to afford diffrent sorts of expense. Thus, studnts are unlikely to spend time on science courses.

From what has been discussed above, we can safely draw a conclusion that requiring university students to take basic science courses is unnecessary. Not only it would cause distraction, but also make financial issues.