Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The issue stated by the topic is whether or not all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Some people think that it is better to take history courses. Others may disagree; they prefer not taking history courses. In my opinion, not all university students should take history courses.

First, it is not necessary for IT majors to learn history courses. The history courses are not important for IT students because it will not affect to student’s future job. For example, take the founder of the well-known Microsoft Corporation, Bill Gates. Before he turned Microsoft into a successful commercial software company, he began his career as a software engineer. Although Bill did not know the history knowledge, he could still to success his company. He establishes his commercial empire. As you see, history courses are important for all university students since they can success in their jobs.

Second, not taking the history courses allows some students to focus on other courses because they have a lot of courses such as presentations, projects, and classes. For instance, four years ago, I attended a science university in South Carolina. I had many courses such as chemistry and biology. It is important to stay on top of all my courses and to get a high-level grade. On the other hand, taking another unimportant course such as history course puts me under stress and wastes my time. For example, at the same time, I attended a science university in South

Carolina, my friend, Josef, attended to the science university in Texas. He had more courses such as history course. He spent much time to study all of these courses. He had depression from the stress. He told me that some course like history did not allow me to focus on the other important courses.

All in all, though some may oppose my opinion, it is clear that not all university students should be taken history courses because it is not necessary for some students and it is allow the students to focus. That is why all university students should not be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.