Do you agree or disagree with the following statement ?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship.

Some people argue that under some specific circumstances one can lie in their relationship with the motive of safeguarding their partners. However, I firmly believe that always telling the truth is the most significant aspect in any relationship and to support my opinion, I will provide two reasons in subsequent paragraphs.

First and foremost, to prolong any relationship, trust among the partners is a must. Without developing trust among each other they cannot enjoy or even tolerate each other’s company. This trust is not develop overnight. When partners are truthful to each other in every circumstances and about every aspect of their life, this trust start to develop between them. I must admit that my opinion is based on my own personal experience. I married my wife after dating her for 10 years. At the start of our relationship, we were unsure about your compatibility as partners. But, as we slowly started to open up with each other, keeping truthfulness as a key to our relationship, we decided to step up to next level. And now I am a happily married man. So, to protect any relationship one should always speak the truth.

Another reason why I feel truth is important consideration in any relationship is due to fact that lying leads to conflicts. Drawing from my personal experience, relationship of my co-worker and his wife ended with an unpleasant and long court trial. My friend is a habitual liar. He lies on every situation to save his skin from consequences of his wrong decision. Not only did he lie in his workplace but he also lied to his wife regarding his gambling habits and debts. After seven years of marriage, his wife couldn’t take anymore and dragged him to court for divorce. In present society, there are abundance of divorce cases stacked in the court that began with partners not being truthful to each other.

To conclude, I definitely think that to be in a fruitful and healthy relationship, one must understand the essence of truth in their relationship.