Your local government has just recently received a large donation from an anonymous donor to improve
the community. Almost everyone agrees that the money should be invested in building a new public
facility. Which of the following do you think your local government should build?
- Build a public library
- Build a public park
- Build a public pool
Large, luscious trees, fields of grass for sports and picnics, exotic flowers, and duck ponds with fountains
and boats are all things you can experience in public parks. If my local government was deciding which to
build, I think that they should build a public park over a public library or public pool. The reasons for this
will be addressed in the following essay.
First of all, public parks are a great way for people to stay fit. There are trails for people to run around and
sports fields for athletes to play in. In my own community, people need space to be more active. Right
now, my neighbors go jogging or walk their dogs on the sidewalks next to a busy street. This is incredibly
dangerous. Not only is a park more scenic, but it is also safer than trying to get exercise near a highway. I
have also seen an outdoor workout station in the park of the next town over. I think my government
should build a park with trails, fields, and exercise machines in order to provide a safe place for people to
improve their fitness in my neighborhood.
Secondly, a public park in my community would be used all year round. Unlike a pool, which is only open
in the summer, people use the park in every season. Parks can be used for picnics, reunions, events,
festivals, and concerts. In the town that I grew up in, I remember every autumn my parents would take my
siblings and me to the park. The trees would be decorated with lights, and local businesses had tables set
up where their merchandise could be sold. There were live music and dancing under the main pavilion.
This fall festival drew in large crowds from all over the city and nearby towns. Since it can be utilized for so
many things, at any time during the year, I think that a public park is the best choice for my local
government to spend money on building.
I would recommend that my local government build a public park. Parks are a great way to get people
more active in the community because they can walk, run, and workout in the park. I also think a park is
the best option because parks can be used for a variety of events throughout the year that could be
profitable for local businesses and the community.