A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge

of the subject being taught.

There is no shortage of opinion on the primary qualifications that a teacher must possess to deliver and attract his students. Some prefer teachers with excellent knowledge on the subject matter whereas others prefer mentors with the ability to deliver the teachings in an effective way. If I were asked to choose, I would definitely prioritize teachers with the ability to relate well with students. I firmly believe this because of two specific reasons that I will elaborate on in subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, teaching is a two-way street. The main objective is to transfer one's knowledge and idea unto another. So, teacher must be capable of relating with the needs of the student and plan his teaching method accordingly. Drawing from my own personal experience, a lecturer in my undergraduate program used to teach us with the help of presentation slides. Usually, he used to outline the basic points of the topic in the slide and explain the details orally. Personally, I found his teaching method very cumbersome and inefficient. Most of the students in the class were either busy doodling or brooding. Clearly, this lecturer has in-depth knowledge about the subject but can't relate to students' need for a new teaching approach. For this reason, I believe effective knowledge transfer is only possible if a teacher can relate to the need of the student's teaching method.

Similarly, a teacher who can relate to the students can easily comprehend his student's intellectual level. While teaching any class, a teacher must realize his audience, whether they are of the beginners' level or an intermediate or an advanced level. This helps the teacher to identify the starting point for lectures. I must admit my opinion is profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. My professor of Hydropower Engineering, before commencing his course for the semester used to take a pre-qualification test. From this test, he deduces the intellectual level of the students attending his class and on the basis of that, he used to plan his lectures. As his classes were modeled as per our requirements, it was very interesting and effective. It is clear to see why a teacher who can relate to students' needs thrives.

In the light of the aforementioned reasons, in my opinion, a teacher's ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught.