Your local government has just recently received a large donation from an anonymous donor to improve

the community. Almost everyone agrees that the money should be invested in building a new public

facility. Which of the following do you think your local government should build?

- Build a public library

- Build a public park

- Build a public pool

A local government must provide a safe environment for its residents. There are various methods in order to complete their jobs, such as building parks, public schools, larger shops, and other kinds of facilities. Evidently, different people have different needs. For example, the elderly would prefer parks to health gyms. Meanwhile, teenagers would favor skateboard areas over playgrounds. Therefore, if money had to be invested in building a new public building, I would suggest establishing a public library. I feel this way for the following reasons, which I will discuss in the subsequent few paragraphs.

First, drawing from my own experience, public libraries are widely used by all ages, from children to the elderly. When I visited South Korea, I was surprised to observe and explore a public library that was well-built and utilized by all generations. I really thought it was an incredible idea to have sections in the building, allowing college students to research computers, high school students to study on the second floor, children to hear story-telling, and the elderly to play chess while listening to audios. Consequently, a public library would be best if one wants all people to enjoy it, despite the age gap.

Second, it gives a person wider academic and entertainment opportunities. Putting my point into perspective, libraries are usually known for reading books. However, with the large donation, I am deeply convinced that it can be more than that in many aspects. Aside from books, the library can provide citizens with devices, DVDs, clubs, study rooms, activities, and many more. For instance, there could be a writing club, book review discussion, spelling competition, and other various types of events. It is crystal clear that a library can give a variety of things, similar to a park and a pool, but more.

To sum up, I believe a public library is the best option since it is likely to be loved by everyone regardless of their age. It can also provide academic doors alongside entertainment through public lectures, indoor activities, and campaigns. The local government should spend its money on constructing a library rather than a park and pool to enhance the quality of life of the natives.