Do you agree or disagree with the following statement For any business to be successful it must spend a lot of money on advertising

Advertising, one of the greatest inventions in the business world, has changed our life in many ways. Although I can see some justifiable reasons to spend money on advertising, I do not believe it is the only way to achieve business success.

On the one hand, a start-up company can generate extensive publicity by channeling a large sum of money into advertising. One reasonable explanation is that well-designed adverts can leave a deep impression on customers' minds, allowing them to become familiar with this start-up. As a result, when buying new products, consumers tend to favor a brand that is widely advertised in the media. This is particularly useful because in this way a small business can rapidly expand its customer base and increase market share. As the number of regular users goes up, the company can soon gain a firm foothold in the competitive market and gradually make some profit.

On the other hand, for well-established companies, excessive advertising can be a waste of money and negatively affect the quality of products. By that I mean, when advertising costs too much and R&D spending is cut, product quality suffers. If the goods fail to live up to their reputation, disappointed consumers will stop buying them. For example, last year a renowned milk company was reported using ingredients of poor quality, which sparked public outrage and led to a consumer boycott. In the end, the company had no choice but to go bankrupt. From the case, we can learn that what consumers care about is whether the product is satisfactory -- the key to business success.

To achieve success, one alternative method is to focus on staff members. For one thing, staff training improves employees’ proficiency and professional staff can guarantee consistent, high-quality service. Another benefit of staff training is that it encourages their loyalty as well. As a result, the company can reduce brain drain and create a motivated workforce, building team stability. In addition, to inject more young blood into the team, new members can be recruited systematically. They will help breed more creative ideas, thereby fostering more innovation in terms of products and services. Factors, such as service, stability and innovation, all contribute to a positive user experience and build word of mouth. These pave the way for long-term profit maximization and corporate success.