“Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (such as grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your ideas.”

It is controversial whether the extended family is less important now than it was in the past or not. Some people might agree with the statement because people nowadays became too private about their personal lives. I, however, definitely disagree with the statement for two reasons.

To begin with, extended families can relieve our stress and worries. Family’s existence itself is a force to everyone. From my experience, back in my high school, one classmate had lost her expensive necklace and presume me as a robber. However, I have not seen the necklace even once in my life. Sadly, including teachers, almost everyone regarded me as I have taken her necklace. I was so sad and mad that I was considered a suspect. I told every story to my aunt and uncle that I was called into doubt about the necklace incident. They got really angry about the problem. Specifically, my uncle was a detective of note. The next day, my uncle had complained about the school and had helped teachers find the suspect. Consequently, the suspect was the owner of the necklace. She had taken an unrighteous attitude because she was jealous of me. Therefore, my problem was just solved thanks to my extended family members.

On top of that, extended families will help you develop functional and helpful skills. Each of the extended family members has valuable experiences in their lives. For example, back in my fancy years, I acted as if I was living in my grandparent’s house which means I always visited my grandparent’s house. My grandparents were intellects of note and had a courteous nature. Therefore, I could not only learn valuable knowledge and virtues they had in their lives but also build an upright character. Moreover, I also have learned skills they had to solve their problems. When I grew up and became an adult, I could overcome hardships easily compared to my friends. My example shows that learning life lessons from an extended family are quite fruitful.