Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Schools have changed over the past few decades, and some of them are experimenting in narrowing the variety of subjects to make it more specific. Personally, I totally agree with them because it will let students focus more. I feel this way for three reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, studying a broad academic subjects waste students time. Someone who does not know what to study, he or she experiments a variety of topics in order to find his or her interest. As a result, he or she will end with wasting a couple of years. My cousin is a good compelling example of this. He is studying in the U.S. Even though that he wants to study pharmacy, he needs to finish a degree in science first. He wasted almost three years of his life figuring out the track to the pharmacy. Comparatively, I am studying pharmacy in Saudi Arabia and it is a specific program directly after high school. Had he started with me in Saudi Arabia, he would not have wasted three years from his life.

In addition to time-consuming, students will focus on the subjects they study without distracting. They will be familiar with the related topics and science that are needed to their field. A good example is the medical and pharmacy programs in Saudi Arabia. Even though that both of them are in medical fields, medical and pharmacist are separated. This is because physicians need to focus more on diagnosis-related topic, and pharmacists need to focus on pharmacology related topics.

Frankly speaking, it is good to have knowledge in a variety of topics, but sometimes people become talkative about the topic that they are not familiar with it. This will decrease the trust between people. For instance, my friend Hassan, who is a computer engineer, talks to me about medication which is my expertise. He usually says wrong information and insisted that it is true even though that I try to correct him.

All in all, I strongly believe that studying specific materials is much more beneficial. This is because it saves students time, and it makes students focus and be familiar with their subjects.