Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree that it is important to know about events happening around the world even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. The reasons are as follows.

First of all, people should have broad horizons, and knowing about events occurring around the world can broaden their horizons. For example, I read a lot of pieces of news from TV channels of different countries, such as CNN, BBC, DW, etc., and those news may sometimes have extremely different opinions on the same things. Therefore, by doing so, people can understand different aspects from different countries on the exact same things. Additionally, that makes people think out of the box and learn how to realize international affairs in a more respectful way.

Secondly, people should always learn new things, and knowing about events happening outside their own countries helps them learn new knowledge. For example, there are a lot of TV channels that introduce cultures and lifestyles of different countries, and by watching those channels, people can get familiar with those cultures and lifestyles. When they have chances to travel to the countries, it will be easier for them to get accustomed to the local cultures, and also they can have the abilities to avoid offending local people unintentionally.

Last but not least, people should prepare for confronting things that may happen to them in the future, and being aware of events happening around the world allows them to do so. For example, the Ukraine-Russia war is happening right now, and people in other countries should know about that. Since there are a lot of countries that are under such external threats, people have to learn from this to prepare for potential outbreaks of wars. People should start to think about how to defend their own countries against the external threats, and furthermore, people all over the world should find ways to maintain peace among those countries that have significant conflicts right now.

Therefore, I totally believe that it is vital for people to be aware of events happening around the world, even if those events may not affect their daily lives. Knowing about events happening in different countries does help people to broaden their horizons, learn new things, and even know how to prepare for unpredictable events.