Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, there has been a ton of debate on whether people should keep update on latest global news. Personally, I am of the opinion that it is crutial to care about unrelated events happening currently around the world. I feel this way because of two reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

In the first place, discussing events happening around the world is an effective way to increase our social connections. Obviously, with the development of modern technology, each person is forced to receive all kinds of information every day, and it is not surprising to see people voice their own opinions over them. Therefore,to blend in, we have to have a general idea about the topics. This is best demonstrated by my own experience. I am keen in travelling which provide me with opportunities to meet new people. I once attended a group trip after graduating from college, and I shared a room with another student to save money. At the begining, we had an awkward and slient moment, as we knew nothing about and barely talked to each other. The situation changed when we started talking about the recent global news, and we became close friends and kept in touch since then.

Secondly, knowing events around the world also benefits us by save resource. Evidently, it is crutial to keep update on the most recent advances in the scientific field, which allows scientists avoid wasting time and money on repeating works of others, but save them for further work. For example, last summer a professor in my department submitted a proposal of clilincal trial, which was expected to cost millions. During the ethical assessment, another experienced professor realized that a similar trial had been conducted by a well-known expert, consquently they denied the application.

In conclusion, I am fully convinced that people should keep update with the latest events happening around the world. This is because it help people blend in their social circle and because it encourages people to improve themselves.