Some people believe that the Earth is being harmed (damaged) by human activity. Others feel that human activity makes the Earth a better place to live. What is your opinion? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently there has been a ton of debates on whether human activity has detrimental effects on earth. Personally, I am of the opinion that human activities indeed have damaged the earth. I feel this way because of two reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

First of all, pollution resulted from human activities have harmed the earth severely. Currently, different kinds of pollution such as air pollution, plastic pollution and water pollution, have drawn attention from environmental conservation organizations all over the world and been proved to be hazardous to the environment. For example, results observed from worldwide studies have clearly shown that air pollution, which is caused mainly by waste gas released from vehicles, including carbon dioxide, sulfur dioxide and nitric oxide, has warmed the earth and resulted in extreme climate change, consequently leading to increased sea level and natural disasters such as tsunami and Hurricanes, which represents typical consequences from disturbed climate. This evidently demonstrates that human activity has damaged the earth.

Secondly, deforestation also have destroyed the ecosystems on earth. Clearing and cutting down trees has put a large number of animals in danger because of lacking dwelling places, and reduced suitable land for human beings as well because of desertification. This is best demonstrated by a research conducted by Peking University. Results from this study show that the area of desert in China has increase by 10 percent in the last few decades, and tens of thousands of animals have been forced to leave their habitats. As we can see, human activities have brought about tremendous damage to the earth.

In conclusion, I am fully convinced that human activities have put the earth including themselves in danger. This is because human nowadays has polluted almost every non-renewable resource on earth, and because deforestation has damaged plenty of dwelling places for both human and animals.