Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

The statement is making us to talk about that whether we should be aware of the events taken place throughout the world, even though they would not make any change to our lives to some extent. While I am just a college student who definitely cannot represent everyone in the world. I can only base my judgement on my own personality and observation. Having said that, I suppose that we ought to be for the statement, and several reasons can support my point of view.

Off the top of my head, the reason is that knowing more about the world makes us a man with critical thinking, instead of looking upon somethings just in one way. I will illustrate this point by taking myself as an example. Three years ago, when I was a fresh man in our university, I had no idea about which major I should choose. One of my close friends recommended literature and arts to me, which was strongly opposed by me for the reason that these subjects were useless. As time goes by, I began to realize the importance of literature and arts. Because with much more knowledge about news and history, I learn that how significant role literature and arts take especially in the periods of huge disasters and wars. If I had learned much about what was happening in the world, I would not have made judgements without any thinking.

Furthermore, events happened in other areas is just like a mirror that make us reflect on ourselves. Being aware of how difficult life some children in poor areas are living, I learn to treasure my life in which there is no need to worry about food and house. Conscious of what a developed life people in powerful countries live, I made up my mind to study harder so that I am able to develop my own country. Without knowing the events seemingly less relative with me, I would not be a better me.

In a nutshell, just as a famous word goes, there are never two things that have no relationship with each other. We ought to pay attention to the events happening all over the world, because every of them indeed will affect our life. And chances are good that they will make our life better.