Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's sophisticated world of rapid changes, and the age of communications, it has become easy to become informed of the current ongoing events all over the world. There are numorous options, by which an individual can stay tuned of what is going on around them. Additionally, sometimes these events are not related to the person reading them, or does not affect one’s life. Since this phenomenon is noticable, some think it is not crucial to follow these unrelated news, however, some other do not think so. Personally speaking, I agree with the idea of former group, and my reasons to substantiate this claim are provided upon hereunder.

Firstly, reading about the news and events occuring around the globe, which whether to know them or not will not affect our life is a waste of time. Time is precious, especially in nowadays competitive world we live in, and by allocating this time to things that does not bring a convincing outcome to your life, you are probably wasting your time. In other words, you can make better uses of this time, reading an article about your own job to improve your knowledge, or spend some time doing the delayed housework. As an example, suppose you are occupied in a famous company, and you have a family to support. Checking the most recent events, which does not have anything to do with you at all, every day morning, you will loose some of your time eating a well cooked breakfast. Also, if you follow these unrelated news again on the way back home, on the bus or the subway, not only they will not add some necessary information to you, but also waste the time you could spend on reading a psychological article, which could have improved your overall mental health.

Furthermore, many of these events are not positive and adds some stress to your mind. As we are living in a society of fast changes and competitiveness, this fact brings some stress and depression alongside, and reading and following some news, which not only could be unrelated, but also have a negative effect on you due to the unhappy occurence it contained. The more you read these news, the more you will suffer from anxioty, and as a result, this causes a long-term depression and even decreases your efficiency in life and job. An example will drive this fact home. A recent study in the psychology department of the university of Yale illustrates this phenomenon. Scientists divided the people of a the test into to seperate groups. They told the first group that, they have to read 10 minutes per day about the ongoing events around the world. Instead, the second group were told to spend this time on different activities such as sports. At the end of a 2 year observation, a test was given to both groups, which illustrated that the former group suffered from a low level of deppression. Also, they were less efficient at work comparing to the time they started the test. In contrast, the second cluster of people reported more happiness in life, and they felt an overall increase in how efficient they did their duties.

In conclusion, as the aforementioned details and reasons show, it is not important to read about the events happening around the world, rather it can be harmful in case of irrelevant and negative information. As the studies and the examples showed, this time could be put in better use.