Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, it is commonly accepted that old friends not only are the most important part of our happy memories, but also they play a substantial positive role during problems for us. Contrary to this popular belief, there are still those who argue that today people who have the ability to make new friends easily find a better opportunity for a successful and happy life. Today make a relationship with powerful and wealthy people is an important element to obtain good job with high salary. However, I, to a great extent, agree with this idea that it is important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

First and foremost, this is our old friends who stand on our side during bad happens. For example, five years ago, I had a big failure in my business. I was close to losing everything I owned. Nonetheless, none of my co-workers who I really count on them did not help me at this time. They left me behind easily. However, some of my high school friends assisted me by browsing some money and finding a new job for me.

Another significant fact that should be taken into consideration is that our old friends are solid ones which we can get advice from them. When you know someones for a long time, you have enough time to testify their truth. Therefore, you can be sure about their eligibility to share your concern and issues with them. For example, last year I have a serious disagreement with my husband, and I could not speak about it with my family. However, my friend Sara that I know her for more than 20 years was very helpful to solve our problem.

Finally, yet importantly, people who do not save their old friendship always feeling alone. Short-term friendships usually shape for a purpose other than a friendly relationship. For instance for business aims. In these types of relationships people just looking for their own benefits and try to take advantage of this relationship. They do not think about you or your benefits. As a result, having a lot of friends cannot provide the sense of belonging and well-being.

On the basis of the reasons that were mentioned above, I am convinced that keeping old friendships is more important than find new friends. Because of old friends are who support us during hard times, and they are confident people to sharing our mystery with them, and they give us the sense of belonging which is essential for a happy life.