Do you agree or disagree?in the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives

Nowadays, it is commonly accepted that society changes in a way that prepare young people to identify the true way of living and make decisions by themselves. Young people are becoming more and more independent in decision making from their parents. Contrary to this popular belief, there are still those who argue that today young people are still so dependent to their parents, because they highly are cared by parents in the childhood period and it leads to they become emotionally and intellectually dependent to them. However, I, to a great extent, agree with this idea that today young people are better able to make decisions about own lives than young people were to do it in the past.

First and foremost, today most people between the age of 20 to 30 have an academic education. At university, people know about different social and political viewpoints, social problems and its solutions. For example, when I studied at university, I participate in varieties of psychological programs, such as emotional control, social relationship and self-analysis. Besides, communication with different people and listening to the professors' experience could give a lot of valuable knowledge that can be guided us in decision making.

Another significant fact that should be taken into consideration is that today educational system and parents training children to be independent in decision making. For this aim, parents try to give freedom to children and encourage them to make basic decisions about their interesting things, in order to improve the self-confidence of children. For instance, children are free to select which kinds of clothes to buy or wear.

Finally, yet importantly, today young people travel to different countries or areas very more that past. In the past most people lived in small cities or villages and their relationship were limited to their family and few friends. Whereby, they had not an opportunity to obtain information and experience. Therefore, parents were only and a solid source of information to them. In those societies, young people got advice from older people in their family about important decisions. In spite of it, today the transportation revolution provide the possibility of easy travelling around the world.

On the basis of reasons that were mentioned above, I am convinced that in the past, young people dependent too much on their parents to make decisions for them than young ones now. Because of the educational status of societies, and preparing children for independent living from early ages, and because of changes in living style and more travelling to different regions.