Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Philosophical discussions of the educational system of society raise an order of importance for educational strategies on students. One of the most controversial comparisons in the topic is that understanding ideas and concepts is more important than learning facts for students. I agree with the statement, and in my humble opinion, from a similar perspective of an ancient Greek philosopher, Socrates, students should understand ideas and concepts rather than learn facts.

Firstly, Socrates, a philosopher, believed that mind is more important than physical beauty, in the fact that mind represents ideas and concepts, on the other hand, physical beauties are facts. According to his thought, when a person truly knows themselves, they are capable of being wise to extract existed facts from their minds. As the mind is head of sensory elements of the body, and as the facts are nothing more than physical beauties of the universe that can be sensed by sensory elements, teaching facts is not necessary. Students who know themselves, indeed, can learn the facts by observing the physical world that they are living.

Secondly, ideas and concepts are complex combinations of facts. Students can learn facts unintentionally while they understand ideas and concepts, since understanding this complex web of facts requires defining the facts and bring them together into the complex structure. Unlike facts that are one and only, ideas and concepts are changing depending on the one's mind, and thus, as students are expected to make new ideas and create new concepts, understanding previous arguments of others will guide them in their field. Consequently, the education system would be better if students can understand how to combine different facts truly.

Thirdly, a truly wise person must use their unique minds, indeed, they should not use others' perspectives to interpret the current situation. Although a person, who lacks the ability to understand ideas and concepts, knows abundant facts, that person behaves in the way of others without noticing that subconsciously, their actual willing is to behave in another way. Thus, instead of learning numerous facts students can be thought how they can understand and interpret certain situations.

In conclusion, likely thought of an ancient Greek philosopher Socrates, who believes the mind is wise, it is more important for students to understand concepts and ideas than it is for them to learn facts since they provide unintentional learning of combined facts. Lastly, people can interpret appropriately, certain situations if they can understand own way of thinking.