Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Internet is the need of the hour for this century, but not more than public transportation. Personally, I believe that the government should not give priority to the internet over public transportation. I feel this way for three reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, public transportation is a basic need of society, which cannot be compromised. Thousands of people travel through public transportation each day. The government should rather show more concern to public transportation. Giving second priority to this cause is indirectly injustice to the people of the country. Most of the working-class people, who help generating revenue, travel through metro, buses, etc. Moreover, most of the people cannot afford their own vehicles to travel, they just have only one option and that is public transportation Government should be more concerned about poor or middle-class people. Especially, the government of developing and the third world countries should focus more on their infrastructures and construction of public transportation instead of the internet.

Secondly, Public transportation is the sole responsibility of the government and they should focus on the issue. People elect politicians and representatives so that they can focus on the primary necessities of society, which is not the internet definitely. Additionally, the internet can be improved without more interference from the government. Internet is generally improved by corporates, companies and small firms. The government can focus on bigger issues and leave other issues on the government. They can also form a department to look after the internet and its application.

Finally, the overall development of the country depends on infrastructure such as transportation. This sector helps the government generate huge revenue as people pay for the services. The more facilities the services have the more revenue the governemnt is likely to generate. Moreover, it would provide many people jobs. The transporatation is a vast field and capable to provide jobs in many sector such as construction, monitoring, maintainance, etc.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that government should not focus more on internet than public transportation.