Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It s a waste of money for the Government to fund space travel or space exploration Give specific examples and details to support your answer

Space travel and space exploration is not a myth anymore. It is not uncommon that many countries to start developing their space travel technology. However, some people criticize the high cost of spending money on space travel or exploration. From my perspective, governments spending money to fund space expeditions has positive impacts on society.

To begin with, powerful space travel technologies can equip the country with high competitivity in global affairs, which would potentially increase the reputation in the competition and collaboration between different countries. Space travel technologies represent the top level of a country's synthesized ability. The country that has these technologies has a great advantage in negotiating with other countries such as sharing information and collaborating and cooperation on specific topics related to space exploration, which means that it will also bring the country the power to bargain in a diplomatic situation by and large. For example, the Chinese government with the technology of landing on the moon can have the power to express their opinion on the global stage in discussing spatial justice and regulations collectively with other counties that also have advanced technologies. Therefore, investing money in space travel can improve the speaking of a county.

In addition to the advantage in global affairs, promoting space travel can also be beneficial to a country's own development of scientific research. Since space travel and space exploration need many high-tech devices and experiments as well as outstanding scientists and researchers from all fields to collaborate together to come over difficulties. During the process, the government not only needs to strengthen the productivity of space research but also the educational system in the university since the students there are the quasi-engineers and quasi-scientists in the future. And not to mention the equipment and scientific facilities that the university might get from the funding of the government, which can also benefit other related disciplinary such as computer science, artificial intelligence, etc. All science subjects will have a great leap forward because of the investment in space.

Admittedly, many people might think that if the government spends money on space travel, there will be less investment in other public welfare. But actually, with the advent of technology and the improvement of life quality, a rich economy nowadays can afford the high cost of space travel, as well as space research, which not conflicts with the money that invests in the development of other public expenditures such as affordable housing, public transportations, etc. More importantly, space exploration might discover other habitats that are also suitable for human beings in the future or discover a novel fuel that exists on other planets, which will create a significant impact on the earth to relieve our burden of fuel shortage, ecological problems, overpopulations, etc. Thus, it is a long-durational investment that guarantees a brighter future that benefits all of us.

To sum up, based on the positive impacts on global reputation, improvement of domestic research, and increasing the public welfare in the future, the benefits are worthy of funding space travel and exploration.