Do you agree or disagree with the following statement it s better to make friends with intelligent people than with people who have a sense of humor

It is not uncommonly accepted that making friends with wise people will make our life easier since we can acquire useful knowledge from them and we can count on their intelligence to solve the problems that we cannot fix if we need help. On the other hand, we also like to friend people who have a sense of humor because it will color our normal life with sweet memories and a positive attitude. Therefore, from my perspective, there is no hierarchy between intelligent people and humorous people. Making friends with intelligent people is of equal importance to making friends with humorous people.

To begin with, we can learn a lot from intelligent people, which is beneficial for our own development professionally and personally. Intelligent people, for instance, usually come up with novel ideas to solve intricate and intertwined problems such as interpersonal dilemmas or technical cruxes in our jobs. With their assistance and intelligence, the burden of the rest of the colleagues could largely been lowered. So, it is quite a precious opportunity to make friends with these people and we can have a chance to learn their methodology and ways of thinking, which will significantly improve our job performance. Moreover, in our personal life, we can still learn a lot from these wise friends. Their intelligence equips them with more insightful thinking and unique perspectives, as well as subtle observation. That is to say, they can provide more reliable and trustable suggestions for us in our life such as whether is it a good way to express my feelings to my girlfriend or should I invest my money in this stock. Thus, you can never go wrong to make friends with intelligent people since they are your lifelong treasure.

Besides the benefits of making friends with wise people, people with a good sense of humor also play a significant role in our life experiences. These humorous friends teach us how to see things in a positive way and ease our pain and anxiety when we are confronted with problems or dilemmas. For example, my friend Lisa is a humorous person to me. And she always uses her jokes and humor to let me laugh out loud even when I have a bad mood. I remember the time when I was extremely nervous about having a solo cello performance in front of all my schoolmates. I was so anxious and couldn’t speak a word. Lisa came to me and told me if she were me, she would imagine the audience becoming potatoes and tomatoes while playing the cello instead of real people. Thanks to her funny yet relaxing metaphor, I felt much better. It allowed me to be more focused on my performance rather than thinking the embarrassing things. Thus, having friends with humorous people will make you feel relaxed and peaceful, as well as give you the strength to move on.

To sum up, intelligent people and humorous people both pave the way for us in becoming better people. The former improves our competence in society, while the latter improves our inner status. Thus, comparing which is better between these two groups of people is meaningless.