If your friend wants to reduce living expenses which one would you suggest 1 Find a roommate that can share the living expenses 2 Buy the new technology products cell phone less frequently 3 Shop for less expensive food and cook at home instead of eating

To start with, housing is likely the largest expense and for those living in mega cities rent payments account for over 40% of their paycheck. However, finding just one roommate can shave 30%-50% off basic living expenses, including rent, utilities, and even food if they are willing to share groceries.

The second option is less effective. Electronic products tend to be durable: for instance, new iPhones should last a minimum of three years and Android phones are designed to last two years minimum. So a majority of users already do not buy new ones frequently. If one buys new products habitually, chances are that he does not fall short of money at all. Admittedly, a few tech enthusiasts prefer to spend a significant amount of savings buying latest gadgets. Yet, such behavior makes sense to them, because it is their lifelong hobby. It’s hard to persuade them to sacrifice their passion to save money.

The last method is impractical. Today’s employees are as busy as a bee. Some of them even follow a 996 schedule, working from 9 am to 9 pm for six days per week, leaving nearly no time for shopping groceries and cooking. When they return home after a day’s back-breaking work, all they want is a quick dinner and a good rest. Buying ingredients, cooking at home and cleaning up, though cheaper than eating outside or ordering and eating takeout food, take a lot of time and are the straw that breaks the camel’s back.

To sum up, living with others can lower monthly spending markedly, whereas the other two choices cannot.