If your friend wants to reduce living expenses, which one would you suggest?

1. Find a roommate that can share the living expenses.

2. Buy the new technology products (cell phone) less frequently.

3. Shop for less expensive food and cook at home (instead of eating in restaurant or buying expensive food item).

Nowadays, many people are facing high living expenses and want to save money in their daily life. As far as I concerned, finding a roommate who can share living expenses is the most useful method to reduce living expenses.

Firstly, finding a roommate can help us save money in many aspects. We can share the rent; the expenses of water, electricity and etc. with our roommates. This sort of expenses is the majority of living expenses. Take my cousin Lee as an example. Last year, he rented an apartment which cost 800 dollars per month. As Lee could not afford such a high rent, he found a roommate Wang. Then, Lee only needed to spend 400 dollars on rent each month. What was better, he could share the bill of water; electricity; gas and internet with Wang, too. These bills also cost a lot every month. In contrary, if Lee had shopped cheap food and cooked at home or bought technology products less frequently, he would haven’t been able to reduce the rent and the daily expense including the cost of water, electricity and so on. In short, finding a roommate is helpful for us to reduce living expense in many aspects.

Secondly, a roommate can not only help us save money, but also help us in our daily life. When we are ill or face some troubles, our roommate might lend us a hand. For instance, my friend Lily had a bad cold last month. Her parents and friends were not able to take care of her, because she went aboard to study. It was her roommate Rose who took her to the hospital and cooked meals for her. Because of Rose’s help, Lily recovered soon. However, if Lily had not find a roommate and saved money by shopping cheap food or buying technology products less frequently, she might have had to face all the troubles independently. Therefore, a roommate can not only help us reduce living expenses but also help us in our daily life.

Admittedly, buying new technology products and shopping less expensive food can reduce our living expenses. However, the expense of new technology products is far less than the rent, so people cannot save lots of money in this way. Besides, nowadays many people are busying on work so that they do not have enough time to cook at home. Thus, I insist that the best way to save money is to find a roommate who can share living expense.

In conclusion, if my friend want to reduce living expenses, I think the best way is to find a roommate who can share living expenses.