Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Leaders must pay attention to the advice and opinions of other people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

That leaders must consider other people’s advice and opinions is an undeniable fact. Leaders can not only be more creative and make superior decisions by hearing new ideas, but also enhance the spirit among the members. Although some insightful people might disagree with this statement, I approve it based on the following reasons.

First and foremost, by listening to the advice and viewpoints of other people, the leaders can come up with new ideas. Admittedly, no one looks at the problems equally; hence, by sharing their ideas and points of view, the group can be more creative in finding a peaceful solution to conflicts or questions. For example, when I was at university working with my friends on our semester project, I, as the leader, paid close attention to everyone’s viewpoints and their opinions, which were very helpful. Consequently, I manage to find a new way to improve the accuracy of our model in the computer simulation.

Second, the leaders can come up with an alternative solution to a desperate situation and reduce the costs. Therefore, hearing different opinions from other can assist the leader to save money. The veracity of this claim can be evaluated through a meticulous observation on the body of examples; in almost all huge companies, the leaders usually hold a series of meetings with business experts and engineers in order to discuss possible ways of conducting their massive projects and to reduce the capital cost. In summary, consultation with others is a necessity for leaders.

Last but not least, the leaders can build up spirit among the employees or members of the group by allowing them to share their ideas, and by paying enough attention to them. When people perceives that they have a voice in their team or company, they would feel happier and are more satisfied; and the overall result would be higher efficiency, with concomitant progress. Moreover, leaders would work more effectively when they realize that their team is satisfied with their performance and the progress of their group or company.

All in all, although some sophisticated people might disagree with the statement, I reiterate that the leaders should listen carefully to advice and opinions of other people. This policy would benefit the leader, other people, and their company. I highly recommend all leaders to adopt this policy.