Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

The more money a person has, the more he or she should give away to the charities

Bill Gates donates billions every year. While people admire his generosity, some of them tend to normalize this behaviour. It seems logical to give away more money if one has more money. However, in my opinion, there are more things rich people can invest in order to feedback the society.

First of all, with a huge amount of money, billionaires can build new companies that will create new jobs and boost the national economy to reward society. Elon Musk spent every penny of his money to launch SpaceX and Tesla in 2012 which, cannot be denied that, benefit human beings as much as the Bill Gate's charity does. The productions include green vehicles which facilitate the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions and more information about Mars which will be useful to the future generations. Besides, these two companies have more than 50,000 workers, reducing unemployment greatly.

Also, setting up a scholarship fund would be a great choice instead of simply sending money away. Expensive tuition is the main barrier holding back the talented students who have the potential to become scientists, artists, doctors and even entrepreneurs. With more scholarship fundings, a country can have more talents to construct the future world. An illustrating example is my experience with Imperial College London which's tuition is more than 30,000 pounds a year. Without the scholarship, I might just give up graduate study and become an assembly line worker in the industry. But now, I am glad that I continue my cancer research that can help more patients to relieve their pains.

For normal people like us, doing charity is encouraged but not obligatory. Compare with billionaires or millionaires, the differences between the amount of money we have are negligible. Regardless of a little bit more or less money, we should spend it on our own first. Because there is an old saying that "charity begins at home". It is helping others by live well yourself.

In conclusion, people have more money do not necessary to donate more. Billionaires and millionaires can establish new companies or new fundings to illustrate their kindness while ordinary people should take care of themselves first, though charity is a good way to fight poverty and help disables.