Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: the only effective way for the government to encourage energy conservation is to increase the price of gasoline and electricity.

Due to the surge of population, the use of energy is significantly increasing. Whether changing in prices is a good way to make people concern using the energy, it has side effects to many groups of people, especially the poor. I disagree with the statement that increasing the price of gasoline and electricity is the right way to support energy conservation.

To begin with, raising the price has an effect to the cost of production. Many companies have been using the energy in many processes, especially in the stage of production. If the price of the investment is higher, the companies inevitably increase the price of their products. This can come to the inflation when everything is more expensive and people are not able to support their cost of living. For example, in some country, the price of food suddenly up warded after the declaration of raising in gasoline price.

Secondly, the price of energy is increased, but the wage is still the same. Some producers will pass on an increase in the cost of energy to consumers by changing the price of goods and services. As a result, people will not be able to support their cost of living and this can bring to a big difference between rich and poor people. For instance, many people who are from suburb coming to work in a big city, having to rent a costly apartment, and struggling with high cost of living will be in a hard time and lost motivation on their job.

In conclusion, I am an opinion of that increasing in prices is unable to be an effective way to control the use of energy. It is because the increased price will have an effect on the cost of production and the companies will be likely to pass on the surge prices to consumers.