Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

practice the question

Whereas some believe that it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future. I hold a different standpoint for the following reasons that will be further explored in the following essay.

To begin with, earlier in the twentieth century, there were no labor laws that defines the relationship between the employer or the government from one side, and the worker from the other side. In other words, employees didn’t have any health insurance or restrictions regarding minimum wage. This resulted in harsh work conditions for the employee. For example, he won’t get paid if he gets sick. Also, employees were forced to work six days per week at minimum wage. Therefore, there was no security for employees in the past. Nowadays, on the other hand, many laws and rules restrict these illegal processes that were implemented on the employees. Accordingly, a person who works for the government or a company is offered health insurance for him and his family. In addition, he can’t be paid less than the minimum wage of his profession. Not to mention, he gets a retirement payment at the age of sixty to secure his living expenses. All these advantages are the consequence of the contract secured by the laws that the government enforced to ensure a fair and ethical work environment for the employees.

What’s more, due to the rapid pace of technology and science advancement, we can see that professions’ specifications have become tremendously diverse. Consequently, diverse jobs require more employees to fill in these vacancies. Accordingly, one can easily find his preferred field of work and be educated more to qualify for any of these various specifications of the same field. For example, my brother-in-law graduated from civil engineering. However, he works now as an expense engineer. A very peculiar position that requires an employee who graduated from civil engineering but received some business administration education as well. Obviously, he majored in civil engineering and got his master’s in business administration after he graduated. His master’s degree assisted in his hunting for the job he loves as an engineer.

To sum up, work laws and diverse specifications within the same field had contributed to the better opportunity for people to find a job that leads to a secure, bright future.