Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People behave differently when they wear different clothes. Do you agree that different clothes influence the way people behave? Use specific examples to support your answer.

Our appearance is an important part of our lives. Although this may not be ideal, our clothes often determine what people think about us and how they treat us. Some people believe that the clothes that we wear also influence our behavior, while others disagree. In my view, they do influence our behavior for many reasons.

The first reason is that we choose different clothes for different occasions to tell us how to behave. When you want to be active and fun you wear clothes that matches that behavior, on the other hand, when you want to be serious and formal you wear different clothes. For example, When I got to go to work the other day, I chose to wear formal clothes; it wasn’t an accident. I wanted to wear a suit, a shirt and tie, to match the kind of I was going to do. While working, I would often find that I would be a little more serious than normal because of the way I was dressed. I stood up straighter and talked with more force and confident. Because of the way I look, it made me acting serious, and focused. As you can see, the clothes that we wear do strongly impact our behavior.

The second reason is that your clothes influence the way that people treat you and by default, the way that people treat you affects your behavior. If you wear strange clothes, people may stare at you as you ’re an insane. Regardless of how you feel, you will probably be little bothered by this and behave accordingly. For instance, When I was at a university, I took a class of a clinical therapy. One of friend was a guy who used to wear a black shirts, with weird symbols depicts on them, all the time. Since I had never known him, I thought he was in dark, serious, and depressed person. Whenever we had to work together, we would always work independently and finish quickly as possible as can. I didn’t try to make conversation with him and so he became very aggressive with me. One day, we had to do a seminar together that specialized with certain disease. It lasted for several days; so, we had to work together. After a while, I started talking to him. Surprisingly, I realized I was wrong about him and became pretty close. Then, we have become friends since that time. Every time when I talked about this story, I think that if I had been open to him, he would have felt more comfortable talking to me sooner. This experience taught me that the way you dress really does influence how people treat you, which affects how you behave with them.

In short, whether your clothing’s influence is intentional because you chose it for a specific occasion or its influence is unintentional because you react to how someone else treats you, what we wear has a strong influence on how you behave. That’s why we should all choose what we wear very carefully.