•Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People care more about public recognition than about money. Even if no more money is given, public recognition can still make people work harder.

A glance at people’s attitude toward life satisfaction, brings to the light a question that has been asked several times, namely, whether money is more determinant factor to work harder or public recognition. Although most people at young ages may think that money is more important, I, as a person at the beginning of fourth decade of my life, believe that public recognition is highly substantial. This claim is not just based on my experiences and academic research proves this idea.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea, lies in the fact that human is a social creature and tend to be part of a group. Nobody likes to live alone in a cave and does not have any contact with his friends and family. A study at Harvard university, department of sociology, has been conducted research on more than 700 men to find the most important factor that makes individuals happy and healthy. Despite of our expectation, it was not money, education or leisure time. People who had warm and welcoming relationship with others, had better quality of life. This good relationship comes from public recognition and the more relations we make, the happier life we have. Therefore, public attention makes individuals to try harder.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that money, itself, is a way to get more people interest. People normally respect wealthy persons more. For example, when we do not know a person for the first days, our conversations are definitely different from when we understand that he is a doctor or businessman. Despite of the fact that money makes our life easier, after satisfying our basic needs, money is just a means to increase our socioeconomical level of our life. Hence, the main reason of having more money is public interest.

Admittedly, some people feel more assure if they have a lot of money in their bank account. Because of famine era in the past, there are some persons who do not feel safe and secure if they do not have good amount of savings. Nevertheless, I still claim that 90% of society are more interested in honor than money.

Due to the aforementioned argument explored in the previous statements, I strongly assert that even with less possession, most people are glad as long as they have sufficient public recognition.