Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Nowadays, society is evolving into a place in which everybody seeks personal enjoyment in their life, and they sometimes forget what they should do. This is actually something inevitable because of several reasons.

First of all, social media dominates society. In fact, each person feels the urge to check their instagram fee every 5 minutes. This behavior is inevitable because these platforms are where people get news about regular life, and for example, if you don’t know gossip about some movie artist, then others would judge you. Therefore, people do care about checking social media. On the other hand, some are too used to this, they cannot stop themselves, although they are aware of what they should do instead. In both ways, people spend lots of time on their phones and lose connection with the real world. There is also a reality versus instagram life going on. Instagram posts do not always reflect the truth of the person’s real life, since instagram life is more fun for them. Consequently, either intentionally or unintentionally people seek personal enjoyment in social media.

Another reason people would find work related responsibilities boring if they do not like what they do for work. There are lots of people who unwillingly work in jobs that they are comfortable with. Yet, to live in society, everybody needs to earn money, so that they would have nice life standards. Sometimes, either because of their past mistakes or because they couldn’t have the right opportunities before, they would end up with works that they don’t find interesting. In these situations, they would look for personal enjoyment, in a sense they avoid their responsibilities and want to fill this gap in their lives. For example, when I was in university, I needed to work to save some money, and I started to work as a waiter. However, I was studying biology back then, and I found this job not convincing for me. Pleasing the customers is not in my best interest, and I end up ignoring some orders, and look for any spare time that my boss wouldn’t see me and watch some episode of a series, so that I can enjoy the time I spent there. Yet, I wouldn’t spend lots of time on personal enjoyment, but do my job instead. However, in any case, in my humble opinion, people seek for this personal enjoyment, if they are pleased with their current job.

Overall, these are two reasons why people spend too much time on personal enjoyment rather than things they should do.