Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the increased use of computers in our daily lives, computer games are becoming more popular these days. Some people believe that playing computer games is a source of entertainment for their children in their free time but others believe that computer games are just waste of time. In my opinion, Children should not be encouraged to play compuer games as they are waste of time. I feel this for two reasons which i will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, children prefer to play computer games in their homes and avoid going out to play physical games. As children’s interest in these computer games is increasing day by day, children spend their free time playing these games. They do not want to play physical games like soccer, badminton etc with their friends and thus, spending most of their time sitting at one place. I feel that physical games play an important part in the growth and development of children. I can give an example to illustrate this. My ten-year-old niece loves playing Ben 10 computer game. She is so much obssesed with this game that after coming back from school and finishing her homework, she spends her free time only playing this game on her computer without bothering to go out and meeting her friends. As a result, she does not play any physical game with her friends.

Moreover, these computer games have a large impact on the immature minds of children and influences their personality development. Spending most of their time playing these computer games, children get influenced by these video games. As children are in their devloping years, so, it is very easy for them to grasp the traits of their favourite characters from these computer games. For instance, my younger brother loves to play violent computer games. He spends 8 hours a day playing theses computer games. As he spends most of his time playing these violent games, his personality traits have become more violent. His teacher has complained that he has become more violent in recent months and instead of getting punished for his violent behavior, he is not changing his behavior. I feel that his violent behavior is contributed by these violent computer games.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that computer games are waste of time. I feel this because this discourages children to go out and play physical games and because these games affect the personality of children.