Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Providing Internet access is just as important as other services such as building roads so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost Use specific reasons and examples

Nowadays, a modern, fast-paced, high-pressure life is dependent on internet access. Some individuals demand free access to the world wide web; however, this no-fee facility has some negative facets which would damage the society’s structure if governments guarantee this free service. I feel this way for two reasons which I will examine in this essay.

First, the younger generation’s curiosity can make the youth addicted to the internet due to its engaging content. Also, these pictures or videos are produced swiftly on an immense scale which is readily accessible via just a few clicks on their gadgets. This trait will stick people to their cell phones surfing social platforms, or watching videos if it causes no fee. Therefore, they are disturbed for a long time, and they are not able to spend their time learning skills or study.

Secondly, obesity is a significant disaster all over the world for every society. Offering free internet can encourage people to sit on a sofa and scroll down on websites instead of exercise or hang out with their friends. Evidently, people have a strong tendency to save their energy and avoid doing demanding activities. This is best exemplified by my personal experience. Last year, our university gave us free yearly internet on its anniversary, which was very intriguing. However, after a few months, the healthcare center warned the administrators to immediately cancel the annual gift internet as a huge number of students were sick due to lack of exercise and physical activity.

Finally, to my mind, the taxes and fees on the internet should stay remained. It is because younger people would overuse the internet by checking their social media consistently and lost the opportunity to study or gain a new skill. Also, free internet access will incline the obesity rate in human societies.