do you agree or disagree with the following statement? social media affected our life and ruined our relationships

These days Social media and smart phones engaged with our daily routine life and our professional life more than ever. It has effects in almost every aspect of human life. In my point of view smart phones and online social media networks have destroyed relationship and communication between friends and family members.

The first reason to support my idea is that online social medias have reduce face to face communications. For instance family members have started to talk to each other by texting instead of talking face to face even if they’re at home at the same time. In addition this cause lack of physical activities a lot. They prefer to sit in their own room for hours, spending time on scrolling in social networks instead of going around the house and hang out with their family.

The second reason I want to mention is that being engage with social networks increase chance of addiction to these sort of activities such as posting frequently in social networks, seeing others posts. each time they spend more hours of their day on online social networks . Also it may cause depression since it may make people hallucinate that others have perfect life style, always having fun and no problem ever, and they might came into conclusion that it’s just them who are having a messed up life full of family problems to deal with.in addition this may create expectations from other family members especially from parents to provide more staff for living more comfortable but in reality parents couldn’t effort many of these kind of expectations so it cause conflicts between parents and children and ruin their relationship.

So based on the above reasons that I mentioned I believe that social networks and smartphones destroyed relationship between family and friends although it has own benefits such as provide better and more long distance communications.