Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television has destroyed communication among friends and family. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Communication has become utterly important part of all daily activity now a days. Weather you are going to arrange an event or just getting out for a small grocery shopping, you start communicating immediately in the form of weather updates or social network check-ins. As a result the devices meant for these purposes has become important part of our life. Among them Television is one of the oldest and important source of all kind of information and entertainment. Many will agree that television has improved our lifestyle in many ways but I would say it has jeopardies the communication within family and friends in many ways. Two of them are discussed in following.

First of all, Television has made an personalised entertainment hub around it. Once upon a time the whole family enjoyed the television programs in their living room. They talked about the program would have taken the dinner together there. But toady, with this rise and extended availability of technology, televisions has become very a common household, which is affordable for every room of your house. Furthermore, there are so many channels making different genre of programs that everybody has the luxury to have their own choice. As a result people has started to enjoy their own television at personal disposal. This has drastically reduced the family time together. Additionally, it has disrupted the common family norm which was drived by common culture during even 90s. I have example around me. Three persons of my Uncle's family lives in a house where three television sets are set up in three rooms. Once I went to visit them and I had to see them in three different rooms until the dinner time. But when I was a kid, in the same house there was one television in the living room. I still remember enjoying a popular magazine program all together with the family. And I believe today's television culture should be revisited to maintain and continue a happy and connected family life.

Secondly friends are also getting apart for this communication devices. There may be some other device like mobile, computers distracting people from social engagement but television has helped a lot to diminish the group activities once very much popular among friends. For example watching a game on the television will never give the excitement of watching the same game live in the stadium with friends. Take may example here, during my high schools there was a final match between Mohamedan and Abahoni(Two of the major football league of Bangladesh) in December when our schools was closed after final exam. People were so excited about this game that many of them along with us was standing in front of the ticket counter from the very midnight. With this, actually we started hanging out with friends long before the actual game started. And it is obvious that our enjoyment was doubled in the stadium when our team won the game. Though some can argue about the hassle of collecting the ticket, all the expenses involved etc, I would enjoy one game with my friends sitting side by side as a team in the stadium, rather watching the whole series on television.

To conclude, I would mention again communication and interaction have been interrupted, sometimes destroyed in many ways due to the omnipresence of television around us. It is sad but true, we have traded off our near vision for the tele one. And we should immediately take steps to fix this to restore our relationship within friends and family.