DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE WITH THE FOLLOWING STATEMENT? THERE IS NOTHING THAT YOUNG PEOPLE CAN TEACH OLDER PEOPLE. USE SPECIFIC REASONS AND EXAMPLE FOR YOUR ANSWER.

There is a saying in the part of the country where I come from, that “no matter how many clothes a child might have, he or she cannot have enough rag as an older person might have”. In other words it does not matter how many life experiences a young fellow might have, those experiences cannot measure up to what an older person will have. This saying is very true and leads everyone to believe that only older person can teach a younger person. However, there are cases whereby a young person has a lot more to teach an older person.

Life throws at us different challenges at different stages of life. Life is so funny in a way that a middle aged person might be going through the same thing a youth is currently going through or has already passed through. To give an illustration of what I mean, let’s look at the case of a 26 year old lady who has been married for the past 4 years and a lady of 35 years who is just getting married. There is no denial that the lady of 26 years has a lot to teach the other lady of 35years about marital life because she already have that experience at least for 4 years of her life.

Furthermore, different people have different opportunities and privileges. For instance, an older man of let’s say 50 years of age may be back in school to continue his education and end up having a lecturer who could be is younger brother or even worse, his son, all things been equal. This said lecturer might have had the opportunity to complete his education at a very young age which obviously, the older man did not have and was privileged to get the job to lecture.

In conclusion, all this reasons and examples, points out that there can be a lot to gain from a younger person even if the age difference says otherwise. We all get different experiences, opportunities, privileges at different stages of life.