Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: A university education should be provided for free of charge to all interested scholars.Use examples and reasons to support your position.

Since 2011, the university education is free of charge in whole Germany. However, there is no shortage of debate nationally as well as internationally until this day whether university education should be charged (again). However, in my opinion, a well-developed and equal society and a strong economy needs a free academic education. I feel this way for main reason, which I will explore in the following essay.

The point to be mentioned first is that university education needs to be free to bridge the gap between poor and rich. Especially in countries, such as United Kingdom and United States of America, many students from poor or middle class families must take a big loan from the bank to afford a university education. Moreover, these students will start with high amount of debts in their professional life and thus do not have the same conditions as students with more money. However, by eliminating the charges for university education, many students from poor background will be motivated to choose an academic education. My own experience is compelling example for this. At 2011, I was in the high school and was almost ready to start apprentice in a financial institution, because the fee for the universities in Germany was too high for me and my family. However, with the change in legislation, I put my whole effort in graduating high school with the best marks possible to study electrical engineering. For this reason, I think academic education must be free to create equality and fairness in nowadays society.

Secondly, free university education will not only improve the inequality in the country’s society, but will also improve the economy of the nation. By providing education for everyone, there will be highly educated people, which are the heart and the engine of a nation’s economy. For instance, in the last couple of years, Norway has brought highly educated students, improved the economy immensely and it is now one of the most prosperous nation of the world. Accordingly, free education can have a high impact on a nation’s economy.

Due to above mentioned reasons, I firmly believe that university education must be free of charge to cure the society from inequality and unfairness. Moreover, the economic impact will be improved by free academic countries, which can be already seen in real examples like Germany or Norway.