Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, there has been a ton of debate on what kind of job is more satisfying for workers. Personally, I am of the opinion that it is better to do similar tasks during workday. I feel this way because of two reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

First of all, it is more efficient when different people at different positions deal with specific tasks. Obviously, since everyone has limited energy, a person can do only a great job by putting all his efforts on it, and eventually becomes a professional. With all the professionals working together, the company as a whole can run smoothly without wasting time in going back and forth to adjust the entire process. Therefore, workers are more satisfied. For example, in a large cellphone company there are multiple stations with each being in charge of a specific part of the phone, such as the screen, the processor or the battery. Professionals at each station have to do their best to make sure the part they are responsible for have the best quality. Consequently, the company can sell more products, and workers can earn more money.

Secondly, doing similar tasks helps workers become more confident with what they are doing. Evidently, by repeating the same tasks over and over again, workers can improve their skills and avoid making mistakes, while doing multiple duties can create anxious environment for workers and increase the chance of make errors. This is best demonstrated by my personal experience. I used to work as a assistant for the director of my department, and I was stressed out everyday because of the diverse tasks I had to deal with, making me feel lost about who I am. Now, as a dietitian my only job is to make sure my patient get the best treatment, and I am more confident than ever about my future.

In conclusion, I am fully convinced that worders are more satified when doing repeatitive tasks during workday. This is because workers can benifit more from the improved efficicy of the company and because they become more confident.